Home | Video | Issues | Photos | Fishing Info | Charter Boat Directory | Tournaments | Recipes
Atlantic Bluefin Tuna General (Commercial) Category Fishery Closing Wednesday, March 29, 2017 Atlantic Bluefin Tuna Angling Category Fishery: Southern Area Trophy Fishery Closing March 20, 2017 Delaware’s recreational summer flounder size limit to increase to 17 inches effective April 1 Possession limit and season dates unchanged Applications now being accepted for Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police’s second annual summer Youth Academy Support sought for program for ages 12-15 Coastal Recreational Fisheries Fourm Rescheduled The Point at Cape Henlopen State Park to close for 2017 beachnesting season MD sets 2017 flounder regulations 2017 Black Sea Bass Regulations Finalized South Jersey Yacht Sales Sold Big Fish Classics Rules Changes for 2017
Delaware boat registration website to shut down
Monday, November 2, 2015

Delaware’s online boat registration system will be unavailable from Nov. 2-15 to allow for installation of a new online system, DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife announced today.

“This new system modernizes our electronic boat registration operating program. This change also improves our electronic management of registration records to ensure better accuracy and consistency,” said DNREC Licensing Program Coordinator Vicki Rhodes. “We thank boat owners for their patience during this transition, and we look forward to serving you once we ‘go live’ with the new system.”

During the shutdown period, boat owners will still be able to register boats that have never been previously registered in Delaware through DNREC’s boat registration office at 89 Kings Highway in Dover or through private agents throughout the state. They will receive a temporary registration card to operate their vessels, with the original registration card and paperwork to be mailed from the Dover office at a later date. All renewals and transfers will be handled by the Dover office.

For more information, click Delaware Boat Registration, or contact the boat registration office at 302-739-9916.

About Delaware’s boat registration requirements
State law requires that all motor-powered vessels that are principally used in Delaware or used, docked or stowed on Delaware waters for more than 60 consecutive days must be registered in Delaware. Registration numbers provide identification for recovering lost or stolen vessels or identifying vessels violating the law, and helps locate persons involved in boating accidents.

Current annual boat registration fees range from $10 to $60 a year, based on the size of the vessel. Registration fees are used to help fund boating safety patrols, natural resources protection, boating education programs and boating access areas and their maintenance.

“Under Delaware’s boating laws, the operator of a vessel – not necessarily the owner – is responsible for ensuring the vessel is registered, carries all required safety equipment and is operated in a safe manner,” said Sgt. John McDerby, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police boating safety coordinator.


Current Issue

Order a shirt

Photos

Recipes